In the Shadow of Legends

Well, that’s it.  I’ve sent out The Last Scion to a slew of beta readers who are ready to devour my book and spit it out on the floor.  Hopefully within the next couple of months I will get enough feedback to start a somewhat final draft of the novel and begin sending it out to publishing companies.  Scary, right?

The Last Scion was originally composed in 34 days, clocking in at 143,000 words.  I wanted to make the deadline for Suvudu’s writing contest.  Obviously I didn’t win, but afterwards I was freed from the 150,000 word limit – and the time limit – and over the next 6 months took The Last Scion to a comfortable 180,000 words.  That was an adventure.  Maturing as a writer across the span of a novel makes for some very lopsided writing.   During the first draft, the first part of the novel was better than the second part of the novel, because I admittedly was rushing.  During the second draft,  Part III became much better, and I thought I was all ready to send it out to beta readers until I went back and read my edited Part I.  So then I had to edit that again.  Now, hopefully, the writing quality is consistent through the three parts.

With the help of my wife, I’ve managed to choose the next project I am going to begin working on immediately.  In the Shadow of Legends is a story of a young man in search of the story of his notorious grandfather – and that’s all I’ll say for now.  I sat down this morning to really start the worldbuilding phase.  I had some notes, but nothing too comprehensive, no plotting, very slim character sketches, etc.  I was supposed to sit down and start plotting a bit, try to figure out where I wanted the character to go.

That didn’t work out.

Remember a while ago when I said I bought a giant white board, and hoped to go Mad Scientist on it?  Well, the Mad Scientist took over.  I sat with four different color dry erase markers and drew this:

The Land of...Something
The Land of...Something

 

While I had some elements of mapped out geography for The Last Scion, I’ve never done something quite like this.  And the best part was that I didn’t even really have to think about it.  I was too wrapped up in it all to really concentrate on what I was doing, and that caused me to vomit out this strange map on my wall in my basement.  At least now I know the geography.

Boy, that was fun.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. That is cool! I’ve read in a few different places about how drawing a map can be a really illuminating part of plotting. I think that plays out especially well in even slightly epic fantasy, where the landscape becomes a character unto itself.

    This is the best kind of vomit. 🙂

  2. Cool! I’ve also heard of using maps as part of plotting. If you haven’t seen it already, you should check out Holly Lisle’s map making guide. It’s a very interesting and creative way to coming up with a story.

Leave a Reply

