I Should Be Working On My Novel

But I’m not.  I’m sitting here at my new writing desk writing this post.

This Desk Will Make My Books Better

That’s right.  That’s where all the magic happens.  It took me nearly 4.5 hours to put together (Office Depot stuff is no joke, folks), but I have to say I’m very happy with it.  After completely disassembling my life over the last two months, it’s very nearly coming back together again.  The trip from Germany to Missouri hasn’t been easy, short, or simple, but at last it’s finally (mostly) over.

That’s how I spent the first week of NaNoWriMo – in a giant mount of cardboard boxes and moving paper, trying to figure out how in the hell the movers lost a key from my laptop keyboard.  Seriously, how do you do that when I hand the laptop to you with a closed lid?

 

Seriously?

I’ve been attempting to use NaNoWriMo to write the first 50,000 words of my novel In the Shadow of Legends, but so far all I’ve gotten is about 5,500.  That puts me significantly behind the power curve; last year I was at nearly 3x that amount before the first week wrapped up.  So I am going to have to work doubly hard in the next few weeks to make it up – and damn it, I will make it up.

If I’m going to do that, I suppose I’ll have to stop here.  Just wanted to let you all know that I am, in fact, still alive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

  1. It sounds like you and I have had some similar challenges to our NaNo attempts this year. I was dumped on with work overtime and a surprise wedding that has put me seriously behind. Good luck making up your word count!

Leave a Reply

