I’ve Been…Reviewed?

Strangest thing.  I found someone who put a review of one of my works on their website.

I’m certainly surprised that anyone found the time to critique a no-name writer like myself, never mind write about it and post it publicly.  I wasn’t even really convinced that anyone had read the book.

The result?  Mediocre marks.  You can link to it here if you’d like to read it.  While I’m really not sure what the issue was with multiple plots (if there was more than one, I wasn’t aware of it) he presents a relatively objective view of the piece, and clearly didn’t find it as funny as some others that read it for me.   I certainly can understand the character overload, though.

I think – but I’m not sure – that I’m flattered.  I’ll have to let this one sit for a while.

Back to NaNoWriMo!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. Don’t feel bad, Joe. The critic had no name, too. At least, I haven’t been able to find it anywhere on the website. Does that make him/her a hit-and-run critic? 🙂

  2. Oh there’s no bad feelings, here. My humor is certainly not for everyone – just look at my reviews of Wild Wizard’s Win on YouWriteOn. Some people said they fell out of their chair, other people said they wanted to kill me. Humor’s a tricky beast. Other than the subplots comment, which I simply just don’t understand, I think the review was fairly objective. Besides, the editor sent me a personal email with the acceptance of this story telling me how much he enjoyed it. I’m not one to let one person’s opinion weigh me down. I’m more appreciative that the critic decided to take a look at my work.

  3. Well, apparently you have more readers than you know. This seems pretty awesome, regardless of the fact that the reviewer obviously didn’t see the fact that this story was meant to be a bit silly and make one’s head spin, much like a Mel Brooks film. And many people seem to either love him or hate him. I think those who hate him just don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

