Cooler by Association

I’m getting published in something I’m not getting paid for!  And I’m excited about it!

Writing for Charity is an annual event that started in 2008 in Salt Lake City with the express goal of raising money for – you guessed it – charity by inviting aspiring authors to attend a conference in which professional authors will help them polish their manuscripts.  It’s a wonderful cause – authors typically aren’t on the short list of primary charity contributors, and the fact that professionals are willing to donate their time and efforts for this is nothing short of inspiring.  This year it was hosted by the Rock Canyon Writers of Utah and the Children’s Literature Association of Utah on St. Patrick’s day at the Provo Library in Provo, Utah.

In conjunction with this conference, they put forth an open call for submissions for an anthology which will be sold in e-book format.  The premise sounded so fun that I couldn’t help but write something.  Basically, you had to take the old Three Billy Goats Gruff story and twist it – retell the story, have a spinoff, write a sequel, whatever you could come up with.  So, as with most of my stories, it started with the “what if” question:

What if the goats, after they deposed the guardian under the bridge, established a tyrannical Goat Empire and subjugated the trolls?

You’ll have to donate to charity and buy the book if you want to read the rest of the story, but the editors liked it enough to select it for publication.

I’m excited about this for two reasons.  One, I get to use my skills as a budding author to contribute to something bigger than myself.  That’s a great opportunity, and I’m elated to be part of it.

Two, aside from open submissions, they put out a call to famous authors to contribute as well.  That means my work is going to appear next to Hugo Award-winning author Mary Robinette Kowal and Dan Wells.  I never thought that would happen.  Not that I think I’m in the big leagues, or anything, but it’s nice to be able to say that I’m a bit cooler by association.

I had the opportunity to meet and chat with Mary at Life, the Universe, and Everything.  She’s a wonderful gal, and both she and Dan are part of the team that does Writing Excuses, a great resource that I recommend every author check out (especially those who write speculative fiction).  It’s an honor and a privilege to share a table of contents with them.

Keep an eye out for the anthology!  I’ll post it when it comes out, and you can find out how the Wicker Warrior deals with the evil Nannie Longbeard.

Ciao for now!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

