Level Up!

This won’t be a very long entry, but I did want to do a bit of gloating because I believe it is due to me.  I’ll say no more than this:

Image

It came in the mail today, and even though my previous entry talked about an Honorable Mention really just being a very pleasant rejection, I can’t help but be a little proud at the fact that I have one of these hanging on my wall.  

I’m being a busy bee lately, slogging through another draft of In the Shadow of Legends.  I’m about 50% of the way through the rewrite; I hope to finish by June 30th so I can take advantage of some free CreateSpace copies I have coming to me via NaNoWriMo completion last year.  Then I can physically hand copies of the book out for people to beta read for me, rather than forcing them to print it out or read on their computer.  

I’m trying to get some stories together to self publish as well.  If you’re an aspiring cover-design artist that wants to do some free work and get some publicity, I’d like some small drawings to act as covers for e-published short stories.  Use the contact page to let me know you’re interested and we’ll look at some samples.

The title of this post refers to some news I got yesterday.  If you haven’t been over to OverClocked Remix, you’re wrong.  OCRemix is a community of people dedicated to the art of video game music.  They take songs from video games and twist them into new creations.  I had one of my own arrangements accepted by them back in April (I do plan on posting a link to it when it goes live sometime soon), but recently they held a contest in order to get tracks for a CD of Final Fantasy VI music.  I submitted one of my own, not thinking much of it and not having a lot of time to devote to the remix, and found out yesterday that:

I WON.  

Weird, right? I never thought I’d be able to say something as strange as “I came in first place in a video game remixing contest.”  

100 people voted on their favorite remix, and mine came out on top, earning me some $500 worth of music equipment in prizes PLUS inclusion in a no-kidding CD that will be produced after all the tracks get ironed out.  I was happier than an R2 unit not getting blown out of the back of an X-Wing.  

Well, back to writing I go!  There’s a lot of work to be done, and life, as usual, is merciless in its attempts to stop me from doing it.  

Ciao,

Joe

5 Comments

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

