In the Shadow of Legends: Call for Test Readers

Hello everyone,

This is just a short note to say that I’ve finished my edit of In the Shadow of Legends, and it is now ready for distribution to test readers.  If you would like to help me out by reading my novel, please contact me either through my “contact” page, leaving a comment, or any other way you’d like.

To give you an idea of the work I am asking you to do, I want to emphasize that I am looking for readers, not editors.  I want you to read my book like it was off the shelf, like you would any other book.  The only difference is that you get to tell the author what you think about it afterwards.  I will include some guidance in the copies I distribute, but that’s essentially it.  I would prefer feedback in about 30 days, but I realize I’m asking you a favor.  I’m flexible.

The book, in 6″x9″ format, is approximately 515 pages and 220,000 words.  To compare, that’s just about the length of a shorter Wheel of Time novel, or the length of two books of the Lord of the Rings trilogy put together.  Its genre is loosely epic fantasy, but don’t expect the High Fantasy/Sword and Sorcery stuff.  I like to keep my fiction relatively down to earth.

I expect to have 5 bound paperback copies available to me.  If you strongly prefer to read a physical copy, I will ship/hand one to you (and pay for return shipping when you are done).  I can also format it so that it will fit on a kindle, or you can simply read it as a Word document or PDF on your computer.

Hope to hear from you soon!  If you’ve already emailed me, I have you on my list and will be contacting you shortly asking how you’d like the book formatted.

Joe

Leave a Reply

