The Amorphous Blog

It’s certainly been a while since I’ve written anything here.  Life has been beyond crazy.  Lately, I’ve decided to change jobs, move 1,000 miles across the country with my wife and cat, and have a baby.  I also bought suits.  Do you have any idea how stressful that is?

Since WORLDCON, I’ve been on sort of a constrained writing high.  I was so outrageously inspired and excited after the conference, but there was so much OTHER stuff to do that it seemed like I had no way to vent any of that creative steam.  Every time I’d sit down at the computer, I’d find myself house hunting or researching healthcare options or numbly scrolling through Facebook trying to find a way to make a snarky comment or share a goofy photo.  It’s been a high stress environment for probably something like a full year, since I’d only just moved from Germany in late 2011.  Leading up to THAT move was stressful enough, and the OPSTEMPO (military term for how f@*king crazy life is) was so high that I never really seemed to come down.  I thought I could sort of crush through it, but something had to give eventually.  I cranked out a 230,000 word novel between November and March of last year, wrote probably a dozen or so short stories, and got unexpectedly involved in OverClocked Remix as a composer and co-contributor of some really big projects.  There’s been some bad stress, but it’s mostly been good.  Still, stress is stress, and I’m pretty worn out.

Between one job and the next I decided to take about a month off.  I’m learning very rapidly that it’s not enough.  I’ve had just enough time to really decompress before I have to spin back up again and continue the mayhem of moving where I left off.  Now, with the real tough part of the move looming over my shoulder in the next 6 days, it seems like I never relaxed at all, and I’m not sure if I’m ready for life to start again.  I remember being in school and being elated when a big break came up, but near the end of it I’d know that I was ready to go back to real life.  I should feel that way right now.  I don’t.

I’ve tried four or five times now to sit down and write a blog entry, but I had no idea what to write.  I thought to myself, “why write a blog entry when you could be writing something else?”  I went by and read some of my new writing friends’ blogs and found them filled with exciting news about book tours, signings, where to go to get a copy of their book, etc.  I have none of that stuff.  So I didn’t know what to write about.  I still, halfway through this post, don’t know what to write about.  Hence the title of The Amorphous Blog.

I’m going to start expanding the purpose of this site, I think, from merely giving updates to a writing career that doesn’t exist yet to whatever I feel like writing about.  My Military in Fiction articles have done well (thank you all for your comments, reddits, tweets, and likes) and I do plan on writing them, but I don’t want to be a one-trick pony.  I want to be known for my ability to write, not my military background, though I’m glad I can help people.

Tomorrow I’ll give a quick update on what’s going on with my writing.  There are a few exciting things going on, and I’d be happy to tell you all about it.  Until then, I’m going to relax with my wife, keep plowing through book 2 of A Song of Ice and Fire, and try very hard to de-stress.

Be good,

Joe

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

