My OverClocked ReMix Debut

While my webpage has so far been focused on my attempt at a writing career, since the beginning of 2012 I’ve also started to expand a bit on the music side of my life.  I won’t call it a career, because I really have no intent of making it one.  I’ve been playing some sort of instrument or another for about twenty years now (my god) and it’s always been a part of my life.  In a strange way, writing and music have always been in the background, sort of dancing around while I go through the more tangible aspects of life like school and a job that actually pays me money.

Without retelling stories (I save that for my wife, or so she tells me), I’m a huge fan of video game music, and when I found OverClocked ReMix for the first time I was dumbstruck at the huge community out there that appreciates it as much as I do.  OverClocked Remix is a website dedicated to video game music (VGM) as an art form, where the myriad artists who belong to the site use their free time and personal resources to craft new and innovative ways to interpret VGM.  It was started about twelve years ago by David Lloyd, who goes by the remixer handle djpretzel, still an active member in the community.

If you go there, you’ll find a focus on the older RPGs – classics like the Final Fantasy series on SNES/Playstation, Secret of Mana, Chrono Trigger, and Zelda.  But you’ll also find Mario, Metroid, the Elder Scrolls games, and the list is expanding every day.  It’s not just a wacky forum where anyone can upload music, however.  Each piece comes on the site in one of two ways:  it is either submitted and judged by a panel of OCRemix veterans or it is commissioned in the form of albums dedicated to a particular game.  Some of the people that contribute to the site are “real” composers, having worked on the MASS EFFECT soundtracks and the up and coming Mega Man vs. Street Fighter, as well as a huge host of independent and mobile games.  I, however, am just a bum with some instruments and some microphones.

It was an honor when, in April 2012, I had my first remix accepted.  Today it was finally released, marking my debut as an official OverClocked ReMixer.  I took  two songs from Final Fantasy VII and turned them into a bluegrass ho down.  Diversity can definitely be found on OCRemix.

You can download it for free and listen to it here.   After you do that, you should definitely take the time to peruse the website.

In the wake of this first remix, I also entered a competition for entry into a Final Fantasy VI album entitled Balance and Ruin, which will be available in early 2013 – again, for free.  I won the competition and then went on to contribute 2 more songs, earning 3 places in the 5-disc compilation.  I’m really excited for that release, and will definitely post it when it comes.

In the meantime, I started getting messages from other remixers who had heard what I’d done, inviting me to other projects.  In the coming year, I’ll be on the Secret of Mana, Lufia 2, and Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time albums as well.  And this Friday, I’ll be on one of Jason Gallaty’s (remix handle Theophany) albums, produced, written, and directed by him.  It’s called Time’s End, and it’s based on the Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask game.  He allowed me to  listen to the album and it’s going to be awesome.

I hope you take the chance to listen to the music – all of OCRemix, not just mine – and enjoy it.  It’s definitely worth your ear’s attention.

Leave a Reply

