Oh. Hi.

Truth in advertising: I’m participating in a blog challenge set forth by WordPress, because as I got my report in from last year, I realized that I blogged a whopping eight times last year. Eight. That’s not enough – not for my sanity, and not enough for all the things I want to say. So you’ll excuse me if there’s a more material than usual and if it revisits some past topics a bit.

I’ve recently done a lot of social media shuffling – combining pages, refreshing websites, paying better attention to who is paying attention to the things I pay attention to, and so forth. This blog is a big piece of it that I’ve ignored for too long.

What am I going to be doing here? Well, since I’ve combined my voice acting blog with this blog, you’ll be hearing about all kinds of stuff, but there is a central theme. That theme is “story.” If there’ one pervasive element that has permeated my entire life, it’s been storytelling in all its forms. I find it to be one of the most important, compelling, and magical things in the universe, and after well over a decade of being in the military or government service in some form, I’ve made a big switch. I still plan on saving the world, of course. I just think I want to go about it in a different way.

So – hi. My name is Joe. For a long time, I was an officer in the United States Air Force. Now I’m a voice actor in Los Angeles and an author of science fiction and fantasy. My first book, MECHANICAL FAILURE, comes out this June. It’s funny, and it’s about space navies and robots and a guy with a beard. I think you’ll like it. Here you’ll find a little slice of what it’s like to be a guy who is absolutely obsessed with stories and how to tell them – novels, video games, cartoons, even – don’t laugh – commercials, if you do it right.

I promise future posts will be a bit more substantial, but sometimes a little push can get a big rock rolling. I invite you to follow my blog and jump over to my other windows of social media. I’m on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram.

Welcome aboard!

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

  1. Look forward to many more posts. The good thing about social media is that the audience will always be there. But getting their attention is the major challenge.

Leave a Reply

